People

Portrait Helmut Schießel

Helmut Schießel

Chair of Theoretical Physics of Living Matter

Helmut’s CV

Scientific Career

as of 2021
Chair of Theoretical Physics of Living Matter at the Cluster of Excellence Physics of Life, TU Dresden

2005–2020
Full professor, Theoretical Physics of Life Processes, Lorentz Institute for Theoretical Physics, Leiden University

2000–2004
Project leader, Polymer Theory Group, Max-Planck Institute of Polymer Research, Mainz

1999–2000
Postdoctoral researcher at Dept. of Physics and Astronomy and Dept. of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of California in Los Angeles

1997–1998
Postdoctoral research at Materials Research Lab, University of California in Santa Barbara

Education

1994–1997
PhD in Theoretical Physics at Albert-Ludwigs University, Freiburg

Administration

Kerstin Pelz

Administrative Assistant

kerstin.pelz@tu-dresden.de
+49 351 463-41254

Physics of Life at A18 | Room 2.04

Postdocs

Martijn Zuiddam

Postdoc

zuiddam@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Takashi Nishio

Postdoc / Guest Scientist

takashi.nishio@mailbox.tu-dresden.de

PhD Students

Manish Yadav

PhD Student

manish.yadav@tu-dresden.de

Sukanta Mukherjee

PhD Student

sukanta.mukherjee@tu-dresden.de

Sophie Klempahn

PhD Student

sophie.klempahn@tu-dresden.de

Lennart de Bruin

PhD Student (Leiden University)

debruin@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl

Adi Kiang

PhD Student (Leiden University)

kiang@lorentz.leidenuniv.nl